Pilot Recognition Awards

Each September, LifeLine Pilots will present winners in the following awards and criteria:

Pilot of the Year

This is the pilot with the greatest number of legs, hours and miles flown for the previous year.

Wanda Whitsitt Founder’s Award

This legacy award is given to a pilot who has demonstrated an ongoing, multi-year commitment to LifeLine Pilots.  This pilot has consistently been a top-flight leader in both flight legs and hours flown. Additional consideration is given to a pilot who has made an additional financial gift to LifeLine Pilots.

Hangar of Honor Award

Given to a pilot who went above and beyond in the previous year.  This is a pilot who took last-minute flights and went out of their way to help passengers in need.

Blue Sky Award

The recipient is a volunteer who may or may not be a pilot.  They have given their time, talent, and treasure to LifeLine Pilots.  This volunteer's service goes above and beyond the normal call of duty for a volunteer.

2023 Award Winners:

Pilot of the Year - Brad Neihouser

Wanda Whitsitt Founder's Award - Peyton Metzel

Hangar of Honor Award - Tom Skelton

Blue Sky Award - Claud Morgan

2022 Award Winners:

Pilot of the Year - Thom Hornish

Wanda Whitsitt Founder's Award - Carson Greene

Hangar of Honor Award - Tad Foster

Blue Sky Award - Neal Glassett

2021 Award Winners:

Pilot of the Year - Dr. Gareth Eberle

Wanda Whitsitt Founder's Award - Dick Miller

Hangar of Honor Award - John Hinshaw

Blue Sky Award - Andy Wheatcroft